October Dress Project 2013

I did it folks! My second year participating in the* October Dress Project (ODP) was a success. I spent all of October in this number I scored for cheap off of eBay:

thedress

It was a little large in a few places so I had it hemmed and taken in at the underarms and straps. I preferred something brown for this year since 2012 was also a black dress, but nothing simple enough surfaced and this ended up being the better choice. Tailored, it was the perfect dress.

The jumper (with pockets!) gave me a lot more versatility than I had last year as I could wear tops under the dress as well as over, providing me with double the options. The dress was more recognizable as a jumper, but that was the way I preferred to wear it. IΒ ended up with 31 different looks (no repeats!), but did miss photographing 5 days due to late work schedules (etc.), leaving me room for improvement in 2014!

I succeeded in in all of the ODP rules during the month: I didn’t buy anything wardrobe related, I incorporated the dress in my everyday attire and I (hopefully) did it creatively to prove how much I really do have in my closet.

A big thanks to those that encouraged me and made this project fun! And thanks to my hubby whom I made take a photo every day. As promised, here are the photos of all the different looks (including one with my friend, Hayley, who did ODP with me this year!):

ODP1 ODP2 ODP3 ODP4 ODP5 ODP6 ODP7 ODP8 ODP9 ODP10 ODP11 ODP12 ODP13 ODP14 ODP15 ODP16 ODP17 ODP18 ODP19 ODP20 ODP21 ODP22 ODP23 ODP24 ODP25 ODP26

I am looking forward to ODP 2014. Let me know if you want to join in!

* I am beyond excited to have been introduced to the woman who, with a friend , started the ODP back in 2008! Read about Tala’s experience here. I feel like I’ve met a celebrity! Thank you, Tala!!! πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on “October Dress Project 2013

    1. haha, thanks! i’m glad you found it inspirational (2014?? πŸ˜‰ ) and thanks for the shoe compliment. i love shoes (and most of them are cheap! shhhhhh). πŸ™‚

  1. YAY! YAY! YAY! I’ve been waiting for this and I just screamed out loud at my desk when the email came. My co-workers came to check on me. HA HA! I must calm down.

    LOVE the basic black jumper you chose. You started was an awesome piece. You totally succeeded with this years project because I swear to you that not one picture looks the same. I would never guess that you were wearing the same dress. AWESOME! Love all the colors and layers. The pretty scarf. The headbands. The leggins (I’m a leggin’ girl) and your awesome shoes. HOLY BUCKLE and STRAP.. they’re so cute.

    I want to raid your closet! Or at least have you lay out my outfits each day. HA HA HA! Effortless beauty… that’s what you are. You’re one of those people who can put anything together, make it look like a magazine photo shoot, and carry it off with grace and confidence. STYLE ALL THE WAY! I’m loving the one of you by the fountain with the mix of black, browns and blues.

    Sorry, don’t mean to be gushing here, but you know I much I love it when you do this. It is the most fun I’ve had ALL WEEK!
    You’re awesome, babe! LOVE IT. And thanks to J for his awesome photography. He set you up with the most beautiful backgrounds. (kitties and puppies included)

    Love ya! Have a great weekend. xo

    1. you’re my biggest fan!! thanks, stacey!! πŸ˜€ you are so complimentary. i think jordan’s photos help me look a little more stylish than i am. or maybe i can “blame” it on the dress project to begin with! either way, it really is a hoot. i remember last year you said you were a leggings girl. what would we do without them?! easy way to change up the outfit and give it a little pizazz at the same time.
      i’m glad i entertained you for a few minutes πŸ˜€ i’m hoping to get back into more blogging again soon. i’ve kind of fallen off the radar under a heap of work and projects, but things are calming down. i’ve missed my blog reader world!
      hope you are well. can’t believe we’re nearing the end of 2013 already!!!
      thanks again, stacey. love you and happy weekend!!!

  2. You did it again! You came up with some amazing looks and to nerd repeat them takes a lot of creativity. When I see you tomorrow I’ll show you my favorites. I’m impressed with what you have in your closet. I could never pull that off unless I went shopping first, which kind of defeats the purpose.

    1. Thanks Laura! I look forward to hearing your favorites. And you could totally pull this off with your wardrobe!! πŸ˜‰

  3. seriously. never would have known it was the same basic piece in each outfit. how creative…. and really shows how little creativity we typically try to incorporate in our daily wardrobe. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Kathy! It’s so encouraging to hear from others that the same dress looks so different. Sometimes it’s hard to tell. But it’s so much fun in the process. Thanks for your validation! πŸ™‚

  4. I cannot even believe I forgot about this challenge and I totally squealed when this came up in my reader. You did an amazing job (again) coming up with all kinds of ways to wear that dress. Some of my favorites are #6, #8 & #24. And how cool to get to meet one of the gals that started it all. Congrats! Hopefully, I won’t miss it next year.

    1. Danielle! I’ve missed you! Aside from your instagrams I haven’t seen many blogs, but I’m also limited to my phone thse days until w change internet providers. Anyway, thanks a bunch!! 2014, baby cakes πŸ˜€ I will send another reminder next year. What’s scary is that it’ll be here before ya know it!!

  5. Can I have all the clothes you own?!? You are so adorable. Seeing you be so creative makes me realize how much I’ve been slipping in the fashion department. I need to do a “sweats project”…now THAT I would be good at.

Leave a Reply

