Vintage Button Rings

Martyna over at Spoolish recently scored thrifted costume jewelry that needed some repair. She purchased ring blanks and went to town creating some funky, fun rings to spice up her wardrobe ensembles. I’d never worked with ring blanks before, but her post totally inspired me to give them a whirl.

ringblanks

I purchased a few on eBay and went with copper to compliment the vintage look. Then I selected some old buttons from a stash my hubs keeps replenished from estate sale finds.

buttons

Some buttons needed filing for a flatter gluing surface, which my guy did for me pretty quickly:

fileddownrings

Several dollops of Loctite Super Glue*, one beer and a handful of drying minutes later, I had several one-of-a-kind rings to embellish my wardrobe!

ringlineupback

ringcollage

ringlineupfrontThanks for the inspiration, Spoolish! These are going to make the work week that much more vibrant.

* NOTE: This would be a fun project for kids, too! I would recommend using gloves (heck, I should have worn gloves!) since the pieces are small and the glue is extra strength. You could use something less strong, but I have a hunch a weaker glue wouldn’t last very long. As it is, these puppies aren’t going anywhere!

20 thoughts on “Vintage Button Rings

    1. thank you, grace! isn’t that flower so dainty and cute?! it might be part of my ensemble for a wedding i have coming up. keep you posted…

    1. thank you! i love it, too. my husband scored that piece at a thrift store about a year back. we have so many owls around our house, but i can’t get enough of them – especially vintage ones like this one. glad you like him too πŸ™‚

  1. Yay! I’m glad you tried it out. Your rings look great, I think the copper blanks really compliment the whole look. I got another load of broken jewelry to sort through so I can’t wait to create some more. By the way, how well does the glue hold? I found that a couple of my rings fell apart…might need to stick to super glue…

    1. yay, they are martyna approved! πŸ™‚ i was hoping you’d like them. agreed, i like the copper with these. and i would totally try loctite super glue (if you have that up north). i haven’t been wearing mine as long as you have yours, but these are definitely not breaking off anytime soon. have fun with your next round. i think i’m addicted πŸ˜‰

    1. yeah, the beer is always a good motivator and encourager πŸ˜‰ i love the simplicity of that green one, too. glad you like them! the hubs used pliers to get the thicker backs off and then filed it down with a small/fine file. the small ones he just used the file on a few times and it worked pretty well!

    1. yes, let’s talk about that owl! totally adorable, right?! jordan got it at a thrift store about a year back. seems to be 1960’s and it’s a similar vibe to a cast iron skillet, though i’m not positive it’s iron. and it’s about the size of a soap dish. i got just as many compliments on that as i did the rings, which totally makes me happy πŸ˜€ glad you approve πŸ˜‰

  2. That sound you hear is me squealing because I love this idea! I’m totally doing it!! I have tons of vintage buttons and this is such a great way to enjoy them. Yay… I can’t wait!

    PS. I love the owl bowl too. πŸ™‚

    1. girlfriend. i heard you from here! probably because you’re roots are embedded here πŸ˜‰ so glad you like them. be sure to show me what you come up with. i can’t wait to see what vintage buttons you own. and, yes! the owl! ha. i should have saved him for a separate piece – apparently! lol xo

  3. Buttons never looked so good! GENIUS! I love these and I’d be tempted to wear one on every finger… although that might be just a tad much, ya think?
    I’ve tried this idea with jewelry wire and I have a few button rings that I made with wire-wrapping techniques but honestly they come out too bulky. This is a much better idea. Another reason yours are so awesome is the fact that you have all these amazing buttons. Seriously, they’re so cool!!!
    Another great project… all buttoned up! xo

    1. thanks, stacey! i actually walked around the house with all 10 on after i made them πŸ˜€ glad you like them! i would love to see your wire-worked ones. there’s actually a tear shaped button that i didn’t use because i thought it needed some copper wiring! nothing fancy, just a little embellishment. i’m happy you like the buttons and the rings! xo

    1. oh, thank you, mandy! they were so much fun to make, too. maybe a good project for your girls?! xox

Leave a Reply

