Better Than A String Around My Finger

I make it way harder than necessary when trying to remember an important bill, RSVP or deadline. Those typically stay buried in small (okay, not very small), unsightly stacks on my desk or in jam-packed manila folders on my husband’s. If I relied on string alone for everything I am supposed to remember, it might look something like this:

memory

(Yes, I actually took the time to do this)

The Mr. and I have talked about remedies for a few years now, but we’ve never followed through… u.n.t.i.l.l.a.s.t.n.i.g.h.t.

Sometime last year my little Rummager scored old sheets of cork in great condition. We’ve used them as platforms to display and photograph small items for resale, but now we put them toward their intended use.

We each selected a frame from the stack in the back of our closet. I went with a rickety rectangle and he went with a sturdy (mostly) square.

frames

Both of our frame selections were a bit awkwardly shaped for the size of the cork, so we had to do a little slicing, dicing and stuffing. I ended up with 3 perfect squares and 2 slivers for each end. I didn’t want so many visible seams so I wrapped the end pieces with scraps of old burlap we had and I stained the middle panel green for shits and giggles. He glued a firm backing to his cork and then wrapped it entirely in burlap after stuffing it with some left over cotton sheeting from our Mission Rocker project (shiver).

collage

Two glasses of wine and several good tunes later, we each came up with something different and fun fromΒ remnants around the house. Freshly organized and no strings attached.

his

hers

pinned

6 thoughts on “Better Than A String Around My Finger

  1. LOVE IT! First let me say that the string around your fingers and hands is totally impractical but kinda sexy. It may not help you remember a damn thing but it could start a new fashion trend!
    Ha! Ha! I’m getting my yarn out for tomorrows outfit.

    My favorite thing about this is that you guys did it together. The couple that creates together…. Stays together and has more fun.
    What a great use of time and materials. I especially love the orange burlap mixed with the natural cork. Great color and texture! Richie loves Charlie Brown and the cool pin collection.
    Great project guys.

    1. lol yeah, a whole new meaning to “lace” gloves, eh?! just wear it with confidence and the masses will love it! πŸ˜€
      my favorite thing about this project was doing it together too πŸ™‚ the end result is totally fine for what we need them to do (at least what *i* need it to do!), but we had so much fun in the process that it doesn’t matter if my old habits die hard.
      jordan is flattered that richie likes his pin collection. he has so many i couldn’t give you a number, but the one newly pinned to his board that cracks us up is “chinese americans for ford”. ha. xo

  2. Two things: 1. I spy a Charlie Brown pin. Luvvit! 2. At first I thought that string around your hand was spaghetti. I guess I have a one track mind…ie always on food πŸ™‚

    Cool project! πŸ™‚

    1. ha! it’s like you played “where’s waldo” and found charlie brown! πŸ˜‰ and i love spaghetti. and pizza. you can’t go wrong with italian! thanks, j!
      hope you’re doing well and adjusting!!

Leave a Reply

