Car Boot Sale

Happy New Year, everyone! It’s been over a month since my last post and my husband and I just returned from spending the Holidays in England with the fam. We’re now back in California and the routine of the new year has just begun.

While in England, we visited charity shops (i.e. thrift stores/opportunity shops), but were disappointed to miss the much anticipated local car boot sales, which were canceled for the Holidays. These are markets where goods are typically sold out of car trunks, swap meet style. We woke up early last Sunday hoping to experience this firsthand, alas, we were greatly disappointed to find it closed (aka, no cars).

My brother-in-law and sister have visited several since their move to the UK. Some of their more recent finds include a box full of old clock gears, some bits of old wood and a stack of black & white photographs.

materials

My brother-in-law may be working towards his PhD in Electronics Engineering, but he also has a creative bone or two in his body. With a nail here and some soldering there, these old photographs have been repurposed into unique works of art and home decor for their recently inhabited abode.

art1

art2

art3

I not only love the rustic look, but also that a few unnamed family portraits are kept alive.

Just this morning my family across the pond went to the car boot sale in Wincheap (open for the new year!) and sent me this photo to reference.

carbootsale

Meanwhile, I’m wrapping up this blog, my husband is off to three estate sales and I’m encouraged that this might just be a great year. HAPPY 2013!!

xmaseve

6 thoughts on “Car Boot Sale

  1. ARE YOU KIDDING ME! Shut the front door! Those art pieces are the most amazing things I’ve seen in a while. So much talent in this family!

    HEY GIRL! I’ve been thinking about you for weeks now and was so happy to see a picture of you with your sis. Looks like you guys had a great time. Must have been so great to see her and to just travel and get out of dodge. I envy you.

    Richie and I both just squealed over those pieces your B.I.L. so beautifully put together. We have so much in common it just freaks me out. Richie’s art room is filled with watch parts, metal pieces, old gears, funky pieces of wood and he has folders and folders of old black and white pictures he’s collected over the years. Sounds like a car boot sale is right up our alley! Now if I could get him to do something this amazing with them I’d be over the moon. I’m so drawn to the rustic pieces used in a modern, sophisticated way. JUST BEAUTIFUL!

    Loved this.. thanks for sharing. It’s so inspiring!
    Glad you’re back home safe and sound. Happy New Year to you both!

    1. hiiiiiiiiiiii, stacey! i’ve missed you! of COURSE you love these pieces of art. you and richie have fab taste is why! 😉 and i bet richie has an awesome collection of gizmos and gadgets just waiting to be designed into something great for your house. i’ll make sure my BIL sees your effusive compliments (bet it’ll blow his socks off).
      hope you and R enjoyed your vacation time. it’s back to the grind for me tomorrow and i’m psyching myself up for it now. hoping you are ready to get back into the swing of things and wishing you the best 2013. can’t wait to follow your journey this year. xo

  2. Looks awesome Stevo!!! Those car sales sound pretty sweet to me too. Jordan would have probably melted into a ball of bliss and burned your return airplane tickets had you guys made it to one. Perhaps it’s better you missed it.

    Welcome back friends. Sad we can’t have a first hand account of your trip. 😦

    1. thanks so much for the welcome home! and you’re probably right. maybe it is for the best we actually didn’t make it 😉
      wish we could give you first hand account stories too. we’ll have to catch up virtually soon!! xo

  3. LOVE the artwork that your brother-in-law did! Such a great use of vintage finds and a really cool way to display them. I’d be dropping big hints for Christmas and my birthday if he were in my family.

    I would’ve been so disappointed to miss out on the Car Boot Sale too. I’ve actually been missing going to a swap meet. I grew-up hitting up the ones in Santa Fe Springs, Cerritos and the Rose Bowl and they have NOTHING like that in Portland. Sure we have hipster shops, but it’s not the same as stumbling across the most random thing under (literally) the California sun.

    Welcome home!

    1. thanks, danielle, it’s good to be home! i think the artwork my bro-in-law did is pretty dope, too (maybe he’ll remember me next christmas 😉 )
      yeah, we were pretty bummed to miss the car boot sale, i mean, it’s in the name! and it’s been a long time since i’ve hit up the rose bowl, too, and that’s nearly my backyard! i’ll tell it you said hey 😀
      here’s to 2013, D!

Leave a Reply

