Hair Buttons

I swear I’m not going to turn this into a button blog, but I’ve got another button revamp. I have these really cool fabric buttons that I’ve been wanting to do something with (these were scored at a thrift store by my hubs). I may have just the sweater to add them to, but it’s still way too hot to get inspired to even think about that right now. And I’m not sure they’d make for a good necklace, so…how about a hair doodad!

I selected another vintage button favorite from my box and threaded the holes to make it look like it was sewn to the larger button.

I added a little bobby pin to the button back

Then I glued the plastic button to the fabric button.

A ten minute project and a another use for buttons!

Now I’m going to take the time to thank two wonderful bloggers who nominated Scrap & Salvage for the One Lovely Blog Award and Seven Things About Me Award I’ve never felt so popular, especially having both noms in the same week! So thank you Edwina from re:retro and Alex from North of Seven. Edwina, you collect the best vintage stuff and I’m always eager to see what you’ll post about next. Alex, you come up with the most creative projects and I’m not sure how you find the time to do them all, but I love crafting vicariously through you!

Now I’m supposed to say 7 things about me, feel free to go shampoo your hair at this point…

1. I don’t like things to match. I prefer to have a complete table setting of mix-matched finds rather than 12 plates that look identical.

2. Autumn is my favorite “season” and I can’t wait for it to get here (season italicized because I live in Southern California. HA).

3. Most of you know this already about me, but I don’t shop. I leave that to my husband.

4. Sometimes I have complete conversations with my twin sister only quoting films and song lyrics.

5. I pretty much stick to three beverages: coffee, water, wine (and usually in that order).

6. I have two cats (mother and daughter) that really, really annoy me, but they make me smile at least twice a day.

7. I love my wordpress blog Reader and seeing that one (or several) of my blog friends has posted. Keep them coming!

Because I’ve already recommended you check out the afore mentioned blogs, I will now pay it forward and list seven other blogs you should check out (and some of these have already been nominated, so please feel free to forgo the chain mail award πŸ˜‰ ):

A Goode House

the home tome

Kibster

urban rustic

ProjectPolermo

Pillows A-La-Mode

inkomplete design

12 thoughts on “Hair Buttons

  1. Thanks for the shout out! Very kind of you πŸ™‚

    Four comments: 1. nice hair doodad! SO cute. 2. On a related note, I heart the word doodad. 3. I love a mish-mosh of plates as well – many of mine are from thriftstores, some fiestaware etc but I have pulled back on this a bit since hearing about how some have lead in them (?) 4. Mixed feelings about Autumn: love the apples, the crunchy leaves, and the long sweaters, but…behind that there will be a lot of SNOW and ICE around here and that can be a bit harrowing to say the least – I am jealous of your So Cal location.

    Cheers!

    1. thank you! and i don’t know how you snow people do it. so much work! you have to dress ten times to go out in the weather and undress nine times once you get inside. the shoveling, the pre-starting your car…i’m already exhausted!! πŸ™‚ and i hear ya on the lead risk, it’s such a kill joy!
      have a great week!

  2. Button BLOG!!! That was hilarious. If anyone could pull off a button blog it would be you. Always such great ideas and who doesn’t have buttons laying around just waiting to be used! This idea is too pretty. And your hair, by the way, is GORGEOUS! The pretty button gives it that special little somethin’!

    I too am a three beverage girl in that exact order!! coffee in the am… water at meals…. and a good glass of wine in the evening. Like you and your sis… I can also carry on (and do quite often) complete conversations with song lyrics or titles. It’s a skill we should both be proud of!!!

    Thanks for all the lovely stuff today. I appreciate you more than you know and to be on your list is THE BEST! Now I’m off to dig through my giant bag of buttons!!!! Have a great week!

    1. haHA! thanks so much for the hair compliment! it’s the thorn in my side. i’ve always wanted THICK, wavy hair and, well….so thanks for lifting my hair complex momentarily! πŸ˜€
      and i just knew you’d speak “lyric”, ha.
      thanks for stopping by. i hope the business has calmed for you a bit so we can see something fun soon (which reminds me, i should probably snoop just to make sure the reader isn’t broken still). xo

      1. Oh, no luck with the reader. It’s still not working… but there’s hope. The WordPress “team” is trying to figure out why it’s not being “allowed” in the reader. Leave it to me to stump the team. HA HA! I love causing trouble. (not really). Hopefully they’ll figure it out. Said they would contact me as soon as they did.
        Thanks, T.

  3. I love the button idea… it’s so cute!! As much as I drool over a decorative pillow, my daughter is all about the accessories and is gonna want to try this out. Thanks for sharing!

    1. ohhhhhh, i would love to see what she comes up with. i hope she has a blast and comes up with something fab! i’m sure she will, you seem like a creative bunch! πŸ˜‰

    1. oh please do! i bet yours would have a stellar, artistic twist to them. let me know if you come up with anything i’d be jealous of! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

