Ode to Mary Rand McElwee

I was a painfully nostalgic child. I loved going to antique stores to buy other people’s old photographs. My sister and I would ponder them for hours and display them in old photo albums. I guess my husband has a bit o’ the nostalgia bug, too, because he put an old black & white photo of some random baby on the tank of our toilet, like a year ago (no, that is not my baby picture at left, that is said random baby). I have no clue what that’s about, but I have a mind to take it down (we’re talking 5 x 7 here, people!). Maybe my nostalgia has improved a bit!

I do, however, love this little locket my guy acquired. On the front is inscribed “My Beloved Mother Mary Rand McElwee Died Dec. 9 ~ 1893.” Inside, one can only assume, are portraits of the beloved mother and her husband. Of course I did a google search hoping to find a great story about this Ms. Mary McElwee. Alas, she’ll have to remain a mystery and another little nostalgic trinket in my printing press drawer.

2 thoughts on “Ode to Mary Rand McElwee

  1. I love old black and whites. We pick them up all the time and Richie has found some really cool ones. I totally get this! I need to find a way to display them all… but the back of my toilet of course has plants on it! šŸ™‚ The locket is awesome. Isn’t it sweet when our guys bring us pretty things like this. Richie brought home some silver rings for me yesterday. We have some good men in our lives!
    P.S. That baby looks like one of my friends kids! Totally freaked me out when I first saw the post. HA HA!

  2. lol there must be something about that baby because i also have a friend who’s 3 year old looked similar when she was younger.
    i’ve started using some of the old photos as postcards to mail to friends. they don’t always make sense, but sometimes you get fun ones that work well with a quirky comment šŸ˜€ hope you had a nice weekend, friend!

Leave a Reply

